A Fashion Revolution

I’d just like to take a moment to talk about a global movement that is taking place called ‘Fashion Revolution‘. I first came across this organisation on Instagram after following others who are pursuing a buying habit of purchasing sustainable clothing. The movement looks to work with the fashion industry to cultivate a culture of consumers thinking more carefully about where and how their clothes are made.

On 24th-30th April is Fashion Revolution Week where people are encouraged to ask fashion brands, “Who made my clothes?” If you’d like to take part, the organisation provides a variety of ways to contact your favourite clothes brands about their chain of supply.

As one of my reasons for quitting clothes and accessories shopping for a year is because I don’t want to support an industry that relies on poorly paid workers to produce their products, the Fashion Revolution presents a good way for me to get involved in trying to make a difference. It’s all very well for me to make a personal choice about my purchasing habits, but unless I add my voice to others who have the same concerns, my choice will make little difference.whomade

One thought on “A Fashion Revolution

Leave a Reply

